We encourage members who participate in our practice specialties, common interest groups and standards-development process to nominate their peers for individual awards to recognize their exceptional work and service.

What Are These Awards

These awards — sponsored by our Council on Practices and Standards — recognize individuals who have helped advance the occupational safety and health (OSH) profession through exemplary volunteer service to a practice specialty or common interest group member community, or to our Standards Committee during the calendar year.

Council on Practices and Standards
Safety Professional of the Year Award

This award recognizes a safety professional’s achievement in the specialized areas of our practice specialties and common interest groups, and it pays tribute to that member's outstanding accomplishments in these areas.

Get the details

Council on Practices and Standards
Practice Specialty/Common Interest Group
Safety Professional of the Year Award

This award promotes excellence and service by a member within our practice specialty and common interest group member communities.

Be recognized by peers

Thomas F. Bresnahan Safety, Health and Environment Standards Medal

This award is named in honor of Thomas F. Bresnahan, a highly respected retired staff member and ASSP Fellow. Bresnahan reinvigorated our standards development program and helped position the Society to become a leader in this area.

Contribute to standards development


If you’re looking for more guidance on how to nominate someone or be nominated for a Council on Practices and Standards award, please review the following information:

Other Questions?

Please contact ASSP's Council on Practices and Standards Awards and Honors Chair.

Become an ASSP Member Now

Get ahead in your career.

Join ASSP today


President's Message

Read the ASSP president's thoughts on the safety profession.

ISO 45001 Standard

This game-changing standard provides a global foundation for worker safety.