This award recognizes individual members of our practice specialty or common interest group member communities.

What Is the Individual Practice Specialty/Common Interest Safety Professional of the Year Award

This award promotes excellence and service by practice specialty/common interest group (CIG) members. Each practice specialty/CIG advisory committee or awards and honors committee evaluates candidates from its respective community to determine the winner.

Honoree Benefits

The award is presented at the Council on Practices and Standards luncheon during ASSP’s annual Professional Development Conference. The recipient receives a commemorative award as well as recognition within their industry, area of specialty or common interest, which can lead to wider recognition within their organization and the broad OSH profession.

Nominee Requirements

All individual practice specialty and CIG members in good standing are eligible for this award. As a general guideline, current administrators of these member communities should not receive this award from their respective group. Select your candidates based on these key criteria:

  • Demonstrated knowledge and expertise
  • Practice specialty, CIG or ASSP activities
  • Professional contributions
  • Leadership and management

While we encourage each practice specialty and CIG to name a recipient, an annual award is not required.

Submission Process

Deadline: March 15

The practice specialty/CIG advisory committee or awards and honors committee will evaluate the candidates to determine the recipient. Once your community identifies its recipient, please complete this notification form by March 15, to inform the Council on Practices and Standards and ASSP staff of the winner.


President's Message

Read the ASSP president's thoughts on the safety profession.

ISO 45001 Standard

This game-changing standard provides a global foundation for worker safety.