News and Articles


2018 Outstanding Educator of the Year: Gary Winn

May 16, 2018

Each year, ASSP honors an OSH professional who demonstrates outstanding accomplishment in safety education. The William E. Tarrants Outstanding Safety Educator of the Year Award recognizes educators who show the highest level of achievement in OSH teaching, scholarship and commitment to ASSP. This year’s recipient is Gary Winn, Ph.D., CHST.

“Dr. Winn demonstrates the principles he espouses in advising students, engaging external stakeholders to enhance student career opportunities and in the excellence of his teaching,” says Kenneth Currie of West Virginia University. “I’ve enjoyed his senior leadership in the development of our ABET assessment protocol, ensuring that our safety management program is always improving.”

A professor of safety management, Winn has worked in the Department of Industrial and Management Systems Engineering at West Virginia University since 1989. He is the leader of the university’s safety management master’s degree program and occupational safety and health doctorate. He is known for helping students in need find scholarship and employment options, and volunteers to teach off-campus courses in underserved areas of West Virginia. Winn is a professional member of ASSP’s West Virginia Chapter. The award will be presented at ASSP’s Safety 2018 General Session on Tuesday, June 5.

Are You Passionate About Safety?

Volunteer with ASSP today.

Get involved


President's Message

Read the ASSP president's thoughts on the safety profession.

ISO 45001 Standard

This game-changing standard provides a global foundation for worker safety.