News and Articles


Print Page


ASSP Members Appointed to NSC Board of Directors

Dec 01, 2019

Two ASSP members, Travis Parsons and Glenn Trout, were recently appointed to National Safety Council’s (NSC) board of directors. These new board members will work to enhance safety on the road, at work and in a local capacity to further the NSC mission.

Travis Parsons is a member of our National Capital and Northern Virginia chapters as well as the Society’s Construction Practice Specialty. Parsons is the associate director of occupational safety and health at Laborer’s Health & Safety Fund of North America, working as a supervisor to staff within the OSH division. He also serves as a subject matter expert in OSH.

Glenn Trout, CEO and president of VelocityEHS, is a member of our Greater Chicago Chapter as well as the Society’s Environmental, Ergonomics, Fire Protection, Healthcare, Industrial Hygiene, International, Management, Manufacturing, Oil, Gas, Mining and Mineral Resources, and Risk Management/Insurance practice specialties. He has served in the U.S. Air Force as an air weapons controller.


Are You Passionate About Safety?

Volunteer with ASSP today.

Get involved


President's Message

Read the ASSP president's thoughts on the safety profession.

ISO 45001 Standard

This game-changing standard provides a global foundation for worker safety.