News and Articles


Print Page


ASSP Members Honored as AIHA Fellows

Apr 01, 2020

Three of our members were recently honored as American Industrial Hygiene Association (AIHA) Fellows: Joy Erdman, M.S., CSP, CIH; Thomas Fuller, Sc.D., M.S.P.H., M.B.A., CSP, CIH; and Georgi Popov, Ph.D., CSP, ASP, QEP, SMS, ARM, CMC. The AIHA Fellow designation honors those who have made recognized contributions to industrial hygiene or related disciplines, either through research, leadership, publications, education or service to AIHA.

Erdman is president of Joy Solutions LLC, and was previously the senior safety and occupational health civilian professional at the U.S. Navy in the Pentagon. She holds an M.S. in Health Science, Environmental and Occupational Health and Safety from California State University Northridge. Erdman is a professional member of our National Capital Chapter as well as a member of the Society’s Women in Safety Excellence Common Interest Group.

Fuller is an associate professor in the Safety program at Illinois State University as well as the president of Environmental Performance Group. He holds a Doctor of Science in Industrial Hygiene from University of Massachusetts Lowell, holds an M.B.A. in Finance from Suffolk University Sawyer Business School, and holds an M.S.P.H. in Environmental Engineering from University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Fuller is a professional member of our Central Illinois Chapter.

Popov is a professor in the School of Geoscience, Physics and Safety Sciences at University of Central Missouri. He is coauthor of Risk Assessment: A Practical Guide for Assessing Operational Risk and Risk Management Tools for Safety Professionals. He holds a Ph.D. from the National Scientific Board, an M.S. in Nuclear Physics from Defense University in Bulgaria and a post-graduate certification in environmental air quality. He graduated from the U.S. Army Command and General Staff College in Fort Leavenworth, KS. Popov is a professional member of ASSP’s Heart of America Chapter, a member of our Risk Management Practice Specialty and serves on our Risk Assessment Committee. He received the chapter’s 2015 Safety Professional of the Year (SPY) Award and the 2016 ASSP Region V SPY Award. In 2017, Popov received ASSP’s Outstanding Safety Educator Award.

“We're extremely proud of this year's Fellows,” says AIHA CEO Larry Sloan. “They have each made tremendous contribution to the community of industrial hygiene and occupational health, and we're confident they will continue to help improve workplace health and safety.”


Are You Passionate About Safety?

Volunteer with ASSP today.

Get involved


President's Message

Read the ASSP president's thoughts on the safety profession.

ISO 45001 Standard

This game-changing standard provides a global foundation for worker safety.