Society Update News


Print Page

Jim Howe Receives 2020 Standards Medal

Jun 01, 2020

Jim Howe, CSP, is the recipient of ASSP’s 2020 Thomas F. Bresnahan Standards Medal. A professional member of our San Francisco Chapter as well as a member of the Society’s Management Practice Specialty, Howe is being recognized for his achievement in standards development.

Howe has served on our Council on Professional Development and the Standards Development Committee. For the past 20 years, he has been a top influencer and driver for ISO 45001, and has helped develop standards for robot systems, risk assessment, lockout/tagout and other areas. Howe has taken on various leadership roles in the development of safety requirements for several standards

  • ANSI/RIA R15.06 Industrial Robot & Robot Systems, Safety Requirements;
  • ANSI B11.19, Performance Criteria for Safeguarding;
  • ANSI B11 TR3, Risk Assessment and Risk Reduction, a guide to estimate, evaluate and reduce risks associated with machine tools;
  • ANSI/ASSP Z244, Control of Hazardous Energy, Lockout/Tagout and Alternative Methods;
  • ANSI B11, Steering Committee, Requirements for Construction, Care and Use of Machine Tools, Conveyors;
  • ANSI/ASSP Z10, Occupational Health and Safety Management Systems;
  • ISO 10218-1, Robots for Industrial Environment—Safety Requirements—Part 1—Robot;
  • ISO 10218-2, Robots for Industrial Environment—Safety Requirements—Part 2—Robot System and Integration;
  • ISO 45001, Occupational Health and Safety Management Systems—Requirements.

"Receiving the Bresnahan award is an honor for me," says Howe. "It also recognizes thousands of dedicated safety and health professionals, academics, union representatives, and stakeholders who contribute their knowledge and experience to improving and updating standards at a time when many regulations have become completely outdated due to political gridlock." 

The medal is named in honor of Thomas F. Bresnahan, a highly regarded retired ASSP staff member and Society Fellow. Bresnahan reinvigorated the organization’s standards development program and helped position ASSP for future growth. ASSP members active in the development of voluntary national consensus standards are eligible to receive the medal, which is given to one member each year.

Are You Passionate About Safety?

Volunteer with ASSP today.

Get involved


President's Message

Read the ASSP president's thoughts on the safety profession.

ISO 45001 Standard

This game-changing standard provides a global foundation for worker safety.