News and Articles


Print Page


ASSP Members Honored by BCSP in 2020 Awards

Mar 01, 2021

BCSP recently announced the 2020 recipients of its most prestigious awards, with four ASSP members honored. Thomas F. Cecich, CSP, CIH, FASSP, received the BCSP Lifetime Achievement Award, which recognizes a lifetime commitment to the OSH profession. Steven A. Mercer, CSP, ASP, OHST, Sondra N. Lavoie, CHST, STS, CRIS, and Jordan C. Hollingsworth, M.S., CSP, CHST, CUSP, received BCSP Awards of Excellence for their work in the safety profession. These awards recognize those who best represent outstanding leadership, knowledge expertise and commitment to the advancement of the OSH profession.

Cecich is president of TFC & Associates, a global safety, health and environmental management consulting firm, and serves as a strategic board advisor for Avetta LLC. He has been a safety professional for 48 years and is known in the OSH community for his efforts to advance awareness that worker fatalities, serious injuries and high-risk worker health exposures have material impact on business performance and shareholder value. Cecich was instrumental in launching the Center for Safety and Health Sustainability (CSHS) and served as its first chair. He served as ASSP president in 2016-17. He a professional member of our North Carolina Chapter and a member of our Consultants Practice Specialty.

In 1998, Cecich was appointed by President Clinton’s Science Advisor as the business representative to the first U.S. Climate Change National Assessment and is a coauthor of the landmark study Climate Change Impacts on the United States, published in 2000.

"There are times when it is very difficult being a safety professional; however, throughout my career, I've always been able to be refreshed by our network of like-minded professionals,” says Cecich. “I can't personally thank everyone who has helped me achieve this honor, but I can thank you for being a part of a professional body that has helped me achieve much more than I could have individually."

Mercer received the BCSP OHST Award of Excellence. He is a professional member of ASSP’s Gulf Coast Chapter as well as a member of the Society’s Emerging Professionals in OSH Common Interest Group and the Oil, Gas, Mining and Mineral Resources Practice Specialty. Mercer is a health, environmental and safety professional at Marathon Petroleum, where he provides safety expertise for the Permian and Delaware Basin regions for the company covering West Texas and Southern New Mexico.

Lavoie received the BCSP STS Award of Excellence. She is a professional member of our Snake River Chapter, which she has also served as chapter treasurer and membership chair. Lavoie is a risk control specialist for PayneWest Insurance in the Pacific Northwest, where she helps address the diverse needs of clients in agriculture, nonprofits, and residential and commercial construction.

Hollingsworth received the BCSP CHST Award of Excellence. He is a professional member of our Central Indiana Chapter and was named the chapter’s 2020 Safety Professional of the Year. He works at the Safety Management Group, where he leads a staff of safety professionals and contributes to creating expanded solutions designed to meet clients’ unique and evolving needs.


Are You Passionate About Safety?

Volunteer with ASSP today.

Get involved


President's Message

Read the ASSP president's thoughts on the safety profession.

ISO 45001 Standard

This game-changing standard provides a global foundation for worker safety.