ASSP Election Results


Congratulations to our most recently elected leaders. We thank all candidates who participated and all members who voted during the important election process.

2018 Election Results  

Board of Directors

President Rixio Medina, CSP, ASP, CPP
President-Elect: Diana M. Stegall, CSP, CFPS, ALCM, ARM, CPCU
Senior Vice President: Deborah R. Roy, M.P.H., R.N., CSP, COHN-S, CET, FAAOHN
Vice President, Finance: Christine M. Sullivan, CSP, ARM
Director-At-Large: Joel Haight, Ph.D., P.E. CSP, CIH
Director-At-Large: Pamela Walaski, CSP, CHMM

Council Vice Presidents

Council on Practices and Standards: Bernard McDonald, M.S., CSP, CIH, REM, CHMM
Council on Professional Development: Todd William Loushine, Ph.D., P.E., CSP, CIH

Region Vice Presidents

Region II: Timothy S. Page-Bottorff, CSP, CET
Region IV: Andrea Ball, CSP
Region VI: Julian D. Mercer, CSP, CRSP, ASP, CSHM
Region VIII: Aaron Cameron, CSP

Area Directors

Region I, Area 1: Timothy J. Bogowith, ASP, OSHT
Region I, Area 3: Thomas Logan, CSP, ARM
Region II, Area A: Melissa Schmaltz, CSP
Region III, North Areas: Stephanie L. Johnson, CSP, CHMM
Region IV, Alabama/Mississippi: Joe Keenan, M.B.A., CSP, SGE
Region IV, North Florida/Georgia: Abbey Haidar, CFPS
Region V, Area 1: Amy Timmerman, CSP, CHES
Region VI, Northern Area: Paul Esposito, CSP, CIH
Region VII, Southern Area: Thomas Bayer, CSP
Region VIII, Empire Area: J. Brett Carruthers, CSP, ASP, RSSP
Region VIII, New England Area: Donald L. Olesen, M.B.A., P.E., CSP
Region IX, Area 1: Narayanan Vasudevan, CSP
Region IX, Area 2: Yassin Abd Al-Aziz Hussin Darwish, CSP
Region IX, Area 3: Subba Rao Palagummi, CSP, CMIOSH, F.E.Eng

Practice Specialty Assistant Administrators

Construction Practice Specialty: Matthew B. Palmeri, CSP, CHST
Ergonomics Practice Specialty: Rachel Michael, CPE, CHSP
Healthcare Practice Specialty: Cory Worden, M.S., CSP, CSHM, CHSP, ARM, REM, CESCO
Industrial Hygiene Practice Specialty: Wesley Lashbrook, M.S. CSP, CIH
Management Practice Specialty: Joe Tavenner, CSP, CIH, CFPS
Training & Communications Practice Specialty: Marilyn Hubner, Ph.D.
Transportation Practice Specialty: Daniel J. O’Connell, CSP, ASP, CET, CHMM, CHST, CHCM

Common Interest Group Administrator

Safety Professionals and the Latino Workforce: Jorge Otalora, CHST

Common Interest Group Assistant Administrators

Women in Safety Engineering: Christina R. Roll, M.S., CSP
Safety Professionals and the Latino Workforce: Mery P. Sennett, M.S., M.A.

Are You Passionate About Safety?

Volunteer with ASSP today.

Get involved


President's Message

Read the ASSP president's thoughts on the safety profession.

ISO 45001 Standard

This game-changing standard provides a global foundation for worker safety.