In This Section

Thomas F. Bresnahan Standards Medal


This award recognizes members of American Society of Safety Professionals who actively participate in developing voluntary national consensus standards that advance worker safety.

What Is the Thomas F. Bresnahan Standards Medal

ASSP is a leader in the evolution of voluntary occupational safety and health standards that reflect recognized best practices, both in the United States and internationally. As such, we recognize individuals who work to develop those standards on ASSP’s behalf.

This award is named in honor of Thomas Bresnahan, a former ASSP staff member and ASSE Society Fellow who reinvigorated ASSP's standards development program and helped position the organization for future growth in this strategic area.

Honoree Benefits

Recipients are also recognized in ASSP publications, which leads to greater recognition within industry as well as wider recognition from the individual’s employer and within the broad OSH profession.

Nominee Requirements

All ASSP members who are active in developing voluntary consensus standards are eligible to receive this award.

Submission Process

Due Date: March 1

ASSP’s Standards Development Committee reviews submissions and makes a recommendation for formal approval.

The Application and any supporting materials should be submitted by March 1 to ASSP's Technical Services staff.

Other Questions?

Please contact ASSP’s Technical Services staff.


President's Message

Read the ASSP president's thoughts on the safety profession.

ISO 45001 Standard

This game-changing standard provides a global foundation for worker safety.

Connect With ASSP