In This Section

ASSP Safety Course Instructors and Trainers


The American Society of Safety Professionals course instructors are leaders in the safety professional field and have many years of experience in safety.

Learn from Industry Experts

As leaders in their fields, ASSP approved instructors are the best of the best. We carefully review and confirm their credentials, experience, and teaching abilities to bring you the most up to date education available in the safety industry. Check out our list of instructors who bring relevant real-world experiences to support your education.

  • LBaurerschmidtAuthorphoto

    Lauren Bauerschmidt, CSP

    Lauren Bauerschmidt is a manager of standards development for ASSP. A member of the Society’s staff since 2016, Bauerschmidt oversees standards-development activities for safety committees including hazardous energy, OSH training, fleet, metrics and the U.S. Technical Advisory Group to ISO Technical Management Board Working Group on Risk Management (PC 262).

    Prior to joining ASSP, Lauren was an ergonomics and safety specialist with Abbott Laboratories. A professional member of ASSP, Bauerschmidt holds an M.S.E in Ergonomics and Safety and a B.S.E. in Industrial Engineering, both from the University of Michigan.


  • Jeanette_Black

    Dr. Jeanette Black, EdD, SPHR-SHRM SCP

    Jeanette Black is a professor in the College of STEMM at the University of Wisconsin-Stout. She is the co-author of “The Human Factor to Profitability: Building a People-Centered Culture for Long-Term Success.” Black is an occupational health nurse/nurse practitioner who has worked with Fortune 500 companies focused on developing psychologically healthy workplaces.

  • Earl_Blair

    Earl H. Blair, Ph.D., CSP, FASSP

    Earl Blair is a visiting lecturer at Indiana University. His experience includes years of industrial safety management, consulting and training throughout the U.S. and internationally. He researches safety culture, leadership and employee engagement. Blair is a CSP and ASSP Fellow.

  • James_Boretti

    James Boretti, CSP

    With more than 30 years of experience, James Boretti has an extensive background in safety. As a business owner, he provides leadership and oversight of business operations, including board consultations. Boretti is a CSP, member of the ASSP Code of Conduct Committee and former regional vice president of Region I.

  • Wyatt Bradbury

    Wyatt Bradbury, CSP, CHST, CIT

    Bradbury serves as a HSE advisor for Hitachi Rail in Maryland. He also is an adjunct professor at the University of Alabama Birmingham. He has experience in aquatic and recreation risk management, electrical construction, powerline safety, rail safety and safety consulting.

  • cynthia_braun

    Cynthia E. Braun, CSP, CET, CHMM

    Cynthia Braun, CSP, CIT, CHMM, is the president of Braun Safety Associates and CEO of Celebrate Safety Inc. She has 27 years of safety and health experience, and provides consulting and training on safety management systems, OSHA compliance, industrial hygiene, incident investigations, and risk management. Braun serves clients in manufacturing, construction, oil and gas, food and beverage, retail, government and other industries.

  • Alexi Carli

    Alexi Carli, CSP

    Alexi Carli, CSP, spent more than 40 years with UPS, retiring as vice president of safety and health in 2018.  In her role with the company, she prepared and presented business cases at various levels of the organization, including the C-suite. Carli is president of Carli Consulting LLC. She holds degrees in business management and occupational safety and health. In addition, she is chair of the ANSI/ASSP Z16 Committee developing a standard on safety and health performance metrics.

  • K.Clayman

    Kenneth A. Clayman, SMS

    Kenneth Clayman is a safety and health professional who has spent more than 35 years working with organizations around the world to develop and apply innovative management approaches. He advocates for management systems that support safety culture and continual performance improvement. Clayman is a member of the U.S. Technical Advisory Group to ISO Technical Committee 283, which publishes ISO 45001, the international standard for occupational safety and health management systems.


  • Dawm Colombi

    Dawn C Colombi

    Colombi is a provider of Occupational and Environmental Health and Safety (OEH) services. As a Project Management Professional (PMP), she leads a variety of projects, including those that address safety, health and environmental risks. In addition, Dawn serves as LJB’s Training Manager and Corporate Safety Director.


  • trish_ennis

    Patricia M. Ennis, MS, CSP, ARM, CRIS

    Trish Ennis is a leadership, risk management and occupational safety and health professional with more than 30 years of experience. She has expertise in many different areas, including construction, property management, healthcare and zoo and animal management.


Jumpstart Your Learning

Access our latest free webinars, articles and more.

Advance Your Career

Earning an ASSP certificate can enhance your career.

Get Insight & Analysis

Learn about the latest trends in safety management, government affairs and more.

Connect With ASSP