ASSP Safety Professional of the Year


Print Page
Through this award, we recognize outstanding achievement in the profession and acknowledge service to the American Society of Safety Professionals over a five-year period.

2020 ASSP Safety Professional of the Year

What Is the ASSP Safety Professional of the Year Award

The Safety Professional of the Year Award is awarded annually to an ASSP member who demonstrates outstanding achievement in the occupational safety and health (OSH) field while also advancing the OSH profession overall.

View our past recipients

Honoree Benefits

The Safety Professional of the Year Award is presented at our annual Professional Development Conference. Each recipient receives a $2,000 honorarium and an engraved statuette.

Nominee Requirements

All ASSP chapters, regions, practice specialties and common interest groups are highly encouraged to nominate their members for the ASSP Safety Professional of the Year Award. Individuals may also self-nominate. Eligibility requirements encompass an individual's expertise, industry and ASSP involvement, previous awards, leadership and endorsements.

Submission Process

ASSP’s Technical and Professional Recognition Committee selects the award recipient. Submit your nomination package as a single PDF file to ASSP’s Professional Affairs staff by Nov. 1. Petition and attachments (e.g., letters, forms, table of contents) cannot exceed 37 pages.


Other Questions?

Please contact ASSP’s Professional Affairs staff.

Champion Sponsor


Are You Passionate About Safety?

Volunteer with ASSP today.

Get involved


President's Message

Read the ASSP president's thoughts on the safety profession.

ISO 45001 Standard

This game-changing standard provides a global foundation for worker safety.