News and Articles


2018 Outstanding Student Section of the Year Winner: Indiana University Bloomington

May 16, 2018

For the second year in less than five years we congratulate Indiana University Bloomington for winning the 2018 Outstanding Student Section of the Year Award (OSSA).  Indiana University Bloomington is part of the Central Indiana Chapter in Region 7.  The OSSA committee was impressed by their research project on the school’s current level of disaster preparedness and how to identify areas of improvement; along with the students’ involvement in quality technical meetings.  Student faculty advisor, Kevin Slates along with Student Section President Reilly Donovan,  will be traveling to San Antonio, TX to accept the award in June at the Safety 2018 Professional Development Conference.  The Indiana University Bloomington student section will be awarded $6,000 for winning the award which will to go towards scholarships, research, and travel for one member to Safety 2018. The other qualifying student sections will receive a $500 stipend from ASSP.

To learn more about the OSSA award and view Indiana University Bloomington’s winning application, please visit


Are You Passionate About Safety?

Volunteer with ASSP today.

Get involved


President's Message

Read the ASSP president's thoughts on the safety profession.

ISO 45001 Standard

This game-changing standard provides a global foundation for worker safety.