News and Articles


Print Page


ASSP Communities Recognize Safety Professionals of the Year

Aug 01, 2019

During Safety 2019 in New Orleans, LA, ASSP's practice specialties and common interest groups (CIGs) recognized members for their ongoing efforts and contributions to the Society. Here are the recipients:

SU_FrancisSehnCouncil on Practices and Standards Safety Professional of the Year
Francis P. Sehn CSP, ARM
Western Pennsylvania Chapter
Vice President Senior Risk Control Consultant

SU_LindsayBellBlacks in Safety Excellence Common Interest Group
Lindsay K. Bell, CSP
National Capital Chapter
EHS Manager

SU_PatrickWolockoEmerging Professionals in OSH Common Interest Group
Patrick J. Wolocko, CHST, GSP
West Michigan Chapter
Safety Manager
W. Soule & Co

SU_Alex Ruiz - Reg VIIIHispanic Safety Professionals Common Interest Group
Alejandro Ruiz, CSP, CIH, CHMM, CHST, CET
New Jersey Chapter
Associate Director of EHS and the University Safety Officer
Rutgers University

SU_CrystalTurner-MoffattWomen in Safety Excellence Common Interest Group
Crystal D. Turner-Moffatt, CHST, ASP
Hudson River Valley Chapter
CDT EHS Consulting LLC

Practice Specialty Safety Professionals of the Year

SU_JerryRiveraConstruction Practice Specialty
Jerry E. Rivera
National Capital Chapter
Safety Director
National Electrical Contractors Association

SU_AbbyFerriConsultants Practice Specialty
Abby Ferri, CSP
Northwest Chapter
Vice President-National Construction Practice
Hays Cos.

SU_MarjoryAndersonEngineering Practice Specialty
Marjory E. Anderson, CSP
National Capital Chapter
Safety Engineer
Architect of the Capitol

SU_JayBrakensiekEnvironmental Practice Specialty
Jay C. Brakensiek, CSP
Orange County Chapter
Environmental Health and Safety Manager
The Claremont Colleges Services

SU_JasonReasonFire Protection Practice Specialty
Jason P. Reason, CSP, CIH, CHMM
Central Indiana Chapter
Senior Vice President
Lewellyn Technology LLC

SU_ChristopherNollHealthcare Practice Specialty
Christopher T. Noll, CSP, ARM
Louisville Chapter
Senior Safety Professional, Special Projects, Humana Safety and Security

SU_Joseph KappIndustrial Hygiene Practice Specialty
Joseph Kapp, CIH
New Jersey Chapter
Senior Risk Control Manager
Hillmann Consulting LLC

SU_EdwinYapInternational Practice Specialty
Edwin Yap, Ph.D.
Vice President
ESIS Global Risk Control Services

SU_AnitaMullerManagement Practice Specialty
Anita Muller
Gulf Coast Chapter
National Safety Director
Compass Group USA

SU_KristyBellowsOil, Gas, Mining & Mineral Resources Practice Specialty
Kristy Bellows, CSP
Gulf Coast Chapter
Director of Operations

SU_LeoDeBobesPublic Sector Practice Specialty
Leo J. DeBobes, CSP, CPEA, CET
Long Island Chapter
Assistant Administrator, Emergency Management and Regulatory Compliance
Stony Brook Medicine/Stony Brook University Hospital

SU_GregoryBrianGriffithRisk Management/Insurance Practice Specialty
Gregory Brian Griffith, CSP, ARM, CPCU AVP
North Florida Chapter
Client Services Leader, Risk Control
CNA Insurance

SU_MichaelColemanTraining & Communications Practice Specialty
Michael T. Coleman, CSHM
Arkansas Chapter
Assistant Administrator Transportation Practice Specialty

SU_TimothyHealeyTransportation Practice Specialty
Timothy C. Healey
Connecticut Valley Chapter

SU_ReneKalkmanUtilities Practice Specialty
René Kalkman
West Michigan Chapter
Safety Specialist
Holland Board of Public Works

SU_JustinDArtmanSignificant Contributor Award Military Branch
Justin D. Artman, CSP
Central Illinois Chapter
Veteran Assistance Officer
Illinois State University Veterans Assistance Office


Are You Passionate About Safety?

Volunteer with ASSP today.

Get involved


President's Message

Read the ASSP president's thoughts on the safety profession.

ISO 45001 Standard

This game-changing standard provides a global foundation for worker safety.