News and Articles


Print Page


ASSP Members Honored by BCSP

Aug 01, 2019

At Safety 2019, Stewart Burkhammer, a professional member of our Space Coast Chapter as well as a member of the Society’s Consultants and Construction practice specialties, received BCSP’s Lifetime Achievement Award. He serves as principal consultant for Burkhammer Consulting Services, specializing in construction safety. Burkhammer has dedicated more than 40 years to the OSH profession, keeping employees safe through the development of OSH programs for various companies.

“I am deeply honored and humbled to receive the Lifetime Achievement Award from BCSP in recognition of my 50-plus years of working in the environmental, safety and health field,” says Burkhammer. “I have spent a career speaking out on various issues and have learned that the voice of one person has a much greater impact when it is the voice of a group. I am extremely proud of the growth of the OSH community. The OSH professional of the future will be someone who is comfortable with not just developing, but promoting culture change strategies.”

ASSP members Carl Heinlein, Tye Legleu and Eric Simmons received BCSP Awards of Excellence for their work in the safety profession. These awards recognize those who best represent outstanding leadership, knowledge expertise and commitment to the advancement of the OSH profession.

Carl Heinlein received the BCSP CSP Award of Excellence. He is a professional member of our Western Pennsylvania Chapter, and a member of the Society’s Construction, International, Transportation and Utilities practice specialties, as well as our Women in Safety Excellence Common Interest Group. Heinlein is employed by American Contractors Insurance Group where he contributes to successful safety initiatives of multiple construction clients.

Tye Legleu received the BCSP OHST Award of Excellence. He is a professional member of our Greater Baton Rouge Chapter, and a member of the Society’s Manufacturing, and Oil, Gas, Mining and Mineral Resources practice specialties. Legleu works as a production site senior technical health and safety specialist at Shell Chemical.

Eric Simmons received BCSP’s CHST Award of Excellence. He is a student member of our Columbia State University Student Section, part of our San Diego Chapter. He is also a member of the Society’s Construction Practice Specialty and our Emerging Professionals in OSH Common Interest Group. Simmons works as a corporate safety director for Helix Electric.

From left to right: Stewart Burkhammer, Carl Heinlein, Tye Legleu and Eric Simmons. 


Are You Passionate About Safety?

Volunteer with ASSP today.

Get involved


President's Message

Read the ASSP president's thoughts on the safety profession.

ISO 45001 Standard

This game-changing standard provides a global foundation for worker safety.