News and Articles


Print Page


ASSP Members Receive NSC Distinguished Service to Safety Award

Oct 01, 2019

ASSP members Michael Lee Ballard, Darryl C. Hill, Travis M. Parsons and James M. Sievert were honored with the 2019 National Safety Council (NSC) Distinguished Service to Safety Award. The award recognizes individuals with a sustained impact on safety at the local, national or international levels.

"This year's group of winners exemplify a true commitment to furthering safety and health excellence," says NSC president and CEO Lorraine Martin. "We are honored to recognize them for their work and hope they inspire others to make their own contributions to the field."

Michael Lee Ballard, CHCM, is deputy chief, air force occupational safety for the U.S. Air Force. He is a member of our New Mexico Chapter and the Public Sector Practice Specialty.

Darryl C. Hill, Ph.D., CSP, is senior vice president of safety at FirstGroup America. He is a professional member of our Greater Detroit Chapter, and a member of the AcademicConstructionEnvironmentalManagementManufacturing and Transportation practice specialties, and the Blacks in Safety Excellence Common Interest Group.

Travis M. Parsons is associate director of OSH at Laborers' Health and Safety Fund of North America. Parsons is a member of our National Capital and Northern Virginia chapters, and is a member of the Construction Practice Specialty.

James M. Sievert is president of Sievert Safety Training LLC and an emeritus professional member of our Granite State Chapter.


Are You Passionate About Safety?

Volunteer with ASSP today.

Get involved


President's Message

Read the ASSP president's thoughts on the safety profession.

ISO 45001 Standard

This game-changing standard provides a global foundation for worker safety.