In This Section

News and Articles



ASSP Election Results Highlighted by Stegall’s Move to President

Apr 18, 2019

PARK RIDGE, Illinois — The American Society of Safety Professionals (ASSP), the world’s oldest professional safety organization, has announced its new leaders from the 2019 Society elections. All terms begin July 1. Diana Stegall, CSP, CFPS, ARM, SMS, CPCU, will serve as ASSP president for 2019-20.

“Elections are the heart of a professional society, and it’s great to see our members staying involved,” said ASSP President Rixio Medina, CSP, CPP, whose term expires June 30. “Highly engaged safety professionals define our Society, keeping it vibrant and creating opportunities to advance occupational safety and health.”

ASSP’s top elected positions – all part of its Board of Directors – are president, president-elect, senior vice president, vice president of finance and director-at-large. Each is a one-year term, except for the two-year term of the vice president of finance and the three-year term of the director-at-large. The succession of leaders from senior vice president to president-elect, and from president-elect to president, is automatic.

Following are snapshots of ASSP’s newly elected leaders, whose influence and contributions will help shape the policies and programs that sustain the organization as a global leader for workplace safety and health.

Diana Stegall•  President Diana Stegall, CSP, CFPS, ARM, SMS, CPCU, is senior loss control consultant for United Heartland in Minnesota. A member since 1990, she was the first woman named ASSP’s Safety Professional of the Year in 2005. Stegall is a two-time recipient of the Culbertson Outstanding Volunteer Service Award. She has been a member of ASSP’s Government Affairs Committee and chair of the Professional Development Conference Planning Committee. Stegall holds a bachelor’s degree in chemistry from Wake Forest University.

•  President-Elect Deborah R. Roy, MPH, CSP, RN, COHN-S, CET, FAAOHN, is corporate director of health, safety and wellness at L.L.Bean in Maine. She rejoined the ASSP Board of Directors in 2018 after serving as a director-at-large from 2015-17. Roy was honored as an ASSP Fellow in 2018 for her significant contributions to the safety profession. She holds a Master of Public Health degree in occupational safety and health from the University of North Carolina. An ASSP member since 1993, Roy will be Society president in 2020-21.

Brad Giles•  Senior Vice President Brad Giles, P.E., CSP, STS, GIOSH, is principal of Bradley Giles and Associates in Idaho. He has more than 40 years of experience in the safety, health, environmental and security disciplines. He was named an ASSP Fellow in 2010 and has earned the President’s Award twice. Giles was an ASSP Foundation trustee and president of the Board of Certified Safety Professionals. He holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Southern Illinois University. An ASSP member since 1981, Giles will be Society president in 2021-22.

Thom Kramer•  Director-At-Large Thomas Kramer, P.E., CSP, is managing principal for LJB Inc. in Ohio. An ASSP member since 2000, Kramer has served as vice president for the Council on Professional Development and is the chair of the ANSI/ASSP Z359 Fall Protection Committee. He was named ASSP’s Safety Professional of the Year in 2016 and is a two-time recipient of the Culbertson Outstanding Volunteer Service Award. He earned an MBA from Miami University in Ohio and a master’s degree in structural engineering from the University of Cincinnati.

To get on the ballot, candidates must possess several qualifications in addition to being professional members. Attributes include involvement in an ASSP committee or task force, a record of positive contributions to the occupational safety and health profession, support and understanding of the Society’s vision, and being a good motivator who is results-driven. A complete list of election results is available on the ASSP website.

About ASSP – Working together for a safer, stronger future
For more than 100 years, the American Society of Safety Professionals has been at the forefront of helping occupational safety and health professionals protect people and property. The nonprofit society is based in the Chicago suburb of Park Ridge. Its global membership of over 38,000 professionals covers every industry, developing safety and health management plans that prevent injuries, illnesses and deaths. ASSP advances its members and the safety profession through education, advocacy, standards and a professional community. Its flagship publication, Professional Safety, is a longtime leader in the field. Visit and follow us on Twitter, Facebook and LinkedIn.

Media contact: Blaine Krage, 847.768.3416,


Are You Passionate About Safety?

Volunteer with ASSP today.

Get involved


Jumpstart Your Learning

Access our latest free webinars, articles and more.

Advance Your Career

Earning an ASSP certificate can enhance your career.

Get Insight & Analysis

Learn about the latest trends in safety management, government affairs and more.

Connect With ASSP