In This Section

News and Articles



ASSP Communities Recognize 2021 Safety Professionals of the Year

Sep 06, 2021

ASSP's practice specialties and common interest groups recognized members for their ongoing efforts and contributions to the Society. Here are the recipients for 2020-2021:

Council on Practices and Standards Safety Professional of the Year

MN_CSPYFerriNEWAbby Ferri, CSP
Northwest Chapter
Senior Risk Control Consultant

Practice Specialty Safety Professionals of the Year

Brent A. Knight, CSP
Puget Sound Chapter
President and Managing Partner
Intuitive Safety Solutions


Matthew F. Herron, M.S., P.E., CSP, CPE
South Texas Chapter
Senior Safety Engineer
Southwest Research Institute


Michael Doherty, CSP
Columbia-Willamette Chapter
HSSE Manager


Matthew F. Herron, M.S., P.E., CSP, CPE
South Texas Chapter
Senior Safety Engineer
Southwest Research Institute


Holly A. Bollin, M.S., ASP
Northern Ohio Chapter
Occupational Health and Safety Specialist
Akron Children's Hospital


MN_CSPYPearsonIndustrial Hygiene
Adrianne Pearson
International Chapter
Evolving EHS


Stacey A. Brooks, CSP, CHMM, CPEA
Georgia Chapter
General Motors LLC


Stephen Sinatra, CSP, CP12
South Texas Chapter
Occupational Safety Manager
Defense Health Agency


MN_CSPYTruettOil, Gas, Mining and Mineral Resources
Edsel R. Truett, CSP, ARM
Colorado Chapter
Risk Control Advisor


MN_CSPYLaratondaPublic Sector
Elliot P. Laratonda, M.S., CSP, GSP
Star Valley Chapter
Environmental Health and Safety Specialist
Penn State University


MN_CSPYLyonRisk Management
Bruce K. Lyon, P.E., CSP, SMS, ARM, CHMM
Heart of America Chapter
Vice President, Risk Management Services
Hays Companies Inc.


MN_CSPYBlissTraining and Communications
Morgan M. Bliss, Ed.D., CSP, CIH
Puget Sound Chapter
Assistant Professor
Central Washington University


Jeremy W. Presnal, CSP, CHST, OHST
Coastal Bend and Fort Worth chapters
Vice President, EHS & Workforce Development
Shermco Industries

Common Interest Group Safety Professionals of the Year

MN_CSPYHamiltonBlacks In Safety Excellence
Carl Anthony Hamilton
Arizona Chapter
Executive Vice President
CDT EHS Consulting LLC


MN_CSPYGrifflerEmerging Professionals in OSH
Bryce J. Griffler, CSP, ASP
Chesapeake and National Capital chapters
Global Manager
Amazon Web Services (AWS)


MN_CSPYBravoHispanic Safety Professionals
Isabel C. Bravo, CSP
Bakersfield Chapter
Director of Environmental, Health & Safety
Wonderful Citrus


MN_CSPYFerriNEWWomen In Safety Excellence
Abby Ferri, CSP
Northwest Chapter
Senior Risk Control Consultant


Member News stories share how our members and communities are connecting with safety, each other and their communities. Let us know about your activities and community projects.

Connect with us.


Are You Passionate About Safety?

Volunteer with ASSP today.

Get involved


President's Message

Read the ASSP president's thoughts on the safety profession.

ISO 45001 Standard

This game-changing standard provides a global foundation for worker safety.

Connect With ASSP