In This Section

News and Articles



Millersville University Named 2024 Outstanding Student Section

May 13, 2024

For the second time in three years, our Millersville University Student Section has been named the Outstanding Student Section of the Year. The section is part of the Central Pennsylvania Chapter.

The section reported strong results in all three critical requirements — professional development, research, and campus and community Involvement. The award committee pointed to the group’s strong technical meetings with diverse topics, content and presenters, along with great engagement with the parent chapter and ASSP Foundation. The section’s dedication to professional development was also a factor in its selection for top honors. Faculty advisor Betty-Jo Bowers, Ph.D., CSP, and the section will receive $5,000 to fund scholarships and research.

All other student sections that qualified for the award will receive a $500 stipend from ASSP.

Top Three Finalists

  • Millersville University – First Place
  • Indiana University of Pennsylvania – Second Place
  • Murray State University – Third Place

Qualifying Sections

  • Brigham Young University
  • Montana Tech University
  • Slippery Rock University
  • Southeastern Oklahoma State University
  • Texas A&M University
  • University of Massachusetts Lowell

To learn more about the award and view Millersville winning application, visit our Outstanding Student Section of the Year Award web page.


Are You Passionate About Safety?

Volunteer with ASSP today.

Get involved


Jumpstart Your Learning

Access our latest free webinars, articles and more.

Advance Your Career

Earning an ASSP certificate can enhance your career.

Get Insight & Analysis

Learn about the latest trends in safety management, government affairs and more.

Connect With ASSP